Female journalist scoops best journalist of the year award

Carine UMUTONI, a female journalist from the Rwanda Broadcasting Agency (RBA) wins the two most important awards of the event, best female journalist and the journalist of the year award earning   Rwf 1,500,000 for the both award prices.

Under the Media Development Award 2016, 19 Journalists and 4 media houses awarded different prices by The Rwanda Governance Board in Collaboration partnership with the Media High Council, Rwanda Media Commission, and Rwanda Journalist Association under the UNDP support.

The Media Development Award which took place for the fourth time was commemorated along with celebration the African Information Day, the Rwanda National Media Dialogue, and the launch of the Rwanda Media Barometer held on 7th November 2016 at Marriot Hotel in Kigali.

Peacemaker MBUNGIRAMIHIGO, the Executive secretary of the Media High Council, said: “the Media Development Award 2016 is an indication of the impact from different training the Media High Council provides to media practitioners. The trainings are playing a major role in gender mainstreaming in media sector as well as media content and professionalism improvement”.

It is very fantastic to see a woman wining the best journalist’s award! This is an indicator of the step women have taken in Media sector development.’’

He, however, encouraged the media houses’ managers to embrace gender mainstreaming, to ensure more women winning awards like this in the future.

Peacemaker commended the UNDP support in media development and added that the Media High Council will continue to build the Media capacity towards a professional, responsible, profitable and vibrant media sector to deepen accountability and good governance.

The awards won include different cash prizes ranging from 500,000 up to Rwf 1,200,000; trophies and certificates.  The selection based on different criteria as the originality of the story, the relevance of the story towards the development of the nation, quality, the techniques used, among others.

The best stories were chosen among 276 entries which were submitted by practitioners in a period between March 3, 2015 and June 1, 2016.

Here is the list of winners in their respective categories